The Myanmar Investment Commission (MIC) is a government-appointed body which is responsible for verifying and approving investment proposals and regularly issues notifications about sector-specific developments.The new Myanmar Investment Law changes the role of the MIC with fewer investment proposals requiring formal MIC approval and a new Endorsement process – whereby proposals are fast-tracked by being ‘endorsed’  by the MIC – now available to investors.The MIC is comprised of representatives and experts from government ministries, departments and governmental and non-governmental bodies. It has been formed under Myanmar Investment Law.

Objectives of MIC are as follows:

  • To protect investors according to the new investment law promulgated by Union Hluttaw (Parliament)
  • To safeguard environmental conservation
  • To deeply emphasize on social impact
  • To practise accounting and auditing in accordance with international standard in financial matters including transparency and accountability
  • To create job opportunities
  • To abide existing labour law
  • To support corporate social responsibilities
  • To transfer technology

According to Notification No. 61/2018 of Union Government of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar on 16 June 2018, the formation of Myanmar Investment Commission is as follow;

1.  H.E U Thaung Tun Union Minister Ministry of the Office of the Union Government Chairman
2. H.E. Dr. Than Myint Union Minister Ministry of Commerce Vice Chairman
3. H.E. U Tun Tun Oo Union Attorney General Union Attorney General Office Member
4. U Set Aung Deputy Minister Ministry of Planning and Finance Member
5. Daw Nilar Kyaw Minister Yangon Regional Government Member
6. Dr. Aung Tun Thet Economist Member
7. U Khin Maung Yee Permanent Secretary Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation Member
8. U Toe Aung Myint Permanent Secretary Ministry of Commerce Member
9. U Htein Lwin Permanent Secretary Ministry of Electricity and Energy Member
10. U Htay Chun Deputy Director General (Retired) Directorate of Investment and Company Administration Member
11. U Aye Lwin Central Executive Committee Member Republic of the Union of Myanmar Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry Member
12. U Thant Sin Lwin Director General Directorate of Investment and Company Administration Acting Secretary
13. Daw Mya Thuza Deputy Director General (Retired) Directorate of Investment and Company Administration Joint Secretary

The Notification No.20/2018 issued by the Union Government on 18th Janauary  2018 was repealed by this Notification.

Head Office Yangon 
No.1, Thitsar Road, Yankin Township, Yangon.
Contact: 01 658 103

State and regional branch offices

Naypyitaw Branch, Naypyidaw Union Territory


Office No.32, Nay Pyi Taw.
Contact: 067 406124, 067 406166

Mandalay Branch, Mandalay Division


Corner of 26 Street & 84 Street, North of Zaycho Building, Third Floor
Chanayetharsan Township, Mandalay.
Contact: 02 866 61, 02 866 62


Taunggyi Branch, Shan State


Department of Trade Promotion and Consumer Affair Compound, East Circular Road
Yae Aye Kwin Quarter, Taunggyi Towhship.
Contact: 081 2124293


Mawlamyaing Branch, Mon State


Yone Gyi Street, Panpatan Ward, Compound of Mon State Government Office, Mawlamyaing,Mon State.
Contact: 057 23395


Pathein Branch, Ayeyarwady Region


No.38, Aoo Bo Tan Street, Quartar (3), Pathein.
Contact: 042 24662

Monywa Branch, Sagaing Region


Compound Office of District Administration Committee, Yone Gyee Road, Yone Gyee Quarter, Monywa.
Contact: 071 26274


Dawei Branch, Tanintharyi Region


Between Padonmar Street and Sein Pan Pin Street, San Chi Myo Thit Quarter, Dawei Township, Taninthayi Region
Contact Phone – 059 22230 / FAX – 059 22233

Bago Branch, Bago Region


Bago Regional Ministers’ Office, Taungoo Street, Yone Gyee Quarter, Bago Towinship
Contact: Phone 052-2201747, Fax  052-2201748


Hpa-An Branch, Kayin State


Kayin State Ministers’ Office, Thu Da Nu Street, Hpa-An Towinship
Contact: Phone 058 22749, Fax  058 22750

Magway Branch, Magway Region


Combined Office, Pyi Taw Thar (1) Street, Pyi Taw Thar Quarter, Magway TowinshipContact: Phone 063 28748, Fax  063 28748

Loikaw Branch, Kayah State


State Government Office, Daw U Khu Quarter, Loikaw.
Contact: Phone


Magway Branch, Magway Region


Combined Office, Pyi Taw Thar (1) Street, Pyi Taw Thar Quarter, Magway TowinshipContact: Phone 063 28748, Fax  063 28748


Myitkyina Branch, Kachin State


Government Office Compound, Yone Gyi Street, Ayar Quarter, Myitkyina Towinship, Kachin State
Contact: Phone 074 2524201, Fax 074 2520103

Sittwe Branch, Rakhine State


Government Office Compound, May Yu Street, Ball Lone Kwin Quarter, Sittwe Towinship, Rakhine State
Contact: Phone 043 2024528, Fax 043 2024529

Hakha Branch, Chin State

Compound Office, Zay Thit Quarter, Hahka Towinship, Chin State
Contact: Phone,Fax 070 21323


Yangon Branch Office and One Stop Services (OSS) , Yangon

Plot No.49, Myay Taing No. 85/KanBae,Sein Lae May Lane,Kabar Aye Road,Yankin Township,Yangon

Contact: Phone +95-01-658263